Victoria University of Wellington Ranking and Address

Victoria University of Wellington Information

The Victoria University of Wellington, (Maori: Te Whare Wānanga o Te Ūpoko o Te Ika a Māui), was established by an Act of Parliament in 1897 and was the former constituent college of the University of New Zealand.

The institution is renowned for its programs in the humanities, law, other scientific disciplines and a broad range of other programs. In the 2006 New Zealand Government’s Performance-Based Research Fund exercise, Victoria University received the fourth highest average research grade. As of 2010, Victoria had been ranked 225th in the World’s Top 500 universities by the QS World University Ranking.

The university was named after Queen Victoria in 1897, as it was the 60th anniversary of her coronation. It opened its temporary facilities in Thorndon as there was an initial dispute with regards to it’s final location. The institution then opened its primary campus in Kelburn wherein the decision was influenced by the £1000 donation made by the Cable Car Company. In 1904, the Historic Hunter Building’s foundation stone was laid. Due to the dissolution of the University of New Zealand, the Victoria or “Vic” became the independent Victoria University of Wellington in 1961, conferring its own programs and degrees.

In 1960, an extramural branch of the university was founded at Palmerston North and it merged with Massey College on 1 January 1963. Massey College, a branch of Victoria became an independent university on 1 January 1964.

The Victoria University of Wellington takes pride of its notable alumni including Barbara Anderson, an internationally recognized New Zealander fiction writer; Brian Barratt-Boyes, a pioneering heart surgeon from New Zealand; Philippa Campbell, a New Zealand film producer, dramaturg and the Literary Manager of the Auckland Theatre Company; and John Clarke, a New Zealand-born Australian comedian, writer, and satirist. The institution is also composed of Notable academics such as Doreen Blumhardt, a New Zealand potter, ceramicist and arts educator; James Belich, a New Zealand revisionist historian; Peter Munz, a philosopher and historian; and Teresia Teaiwa, an I-Kiribati and American poet and academic.

Victoria University of Wellington Address

The Victoria University of Wellington address is located accross the following campuses:

Kelburn Campus
Kelburn Parade
Wellington 6012

Te Aro Campus
139 Vivian Street
Wellington 6140

Karori Campus
Donald Street

Pipitea Campus
Government Buildings
15 Lambton Quay
Wellington 6140

University of Wellington Administration
Rutherford House
23 Lambton Quay
Wellington 6140

Victoria University of Wellington Rankings and Quick Facts

Motto: Sapientia magis auro desideranda. English: Wisdom is more to be desired than gold.

Victoria University of Wellington ranking
Ranking – Times 200 (UK)
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
403 to 510
Asia – Australiasia Rank (Jiaotong)
65 to 100
Victoria University Wellington Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)

Other well ranked universities and colleges in New Zealand include University of Auckland, University of Otago, University of Canterbury, and Massey University.


Victoria University of Wellington;

Scroll to Top