University of Wroclaw Ranking and Address

University of Wroclaw Information

The University of Wrocław, (Uniwersytet Wrocławski) is one of nine universities in the city of Wrocław in Poland.

It was founded as Schlesische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität zu Breslau in 1811; in 1945 it was re-founded primarily by the academics from the University of Lwów, after the area was passed to Poland. It was known as Uniwersytet Wrocławski im. Bolesława Bieruta and was officially named in honor of of Bolesław Bierut.

Other world renown colleges in Poland include Jagiellonian University and the University of Warsaw.

In May 1945, the Soviet Red Army took the city and subsequently handed it over to the People’s Republic of Poland after the Siege of Breslau. The German population was then expelled or fled. Several of the buildings as well as various architectures were partially destroyed during the city’s defence. On 10 May 1945, the parts of the collection of the university library were burned by the Red Army’s soldiers; four days after the German garrison surrendered the city.

The first team of Polish academics arrived late in May 1945 to Wroclaw and soon took custody of the institution’s university, started to rearrange the university’s buildings and seized all properties from the surviving German professors. Some of the buildings were repaired and remodeled quickly and a cadre of professors was built up, mostly coming from the prewar universities in Lwów and Wilno. The University of Wrocław was then re-established by a decree issued on August 24, 1945, under its modern name as a Polish state university. Ludwik Hirszfeld gave his first lecture in the university on 15 November 1945 and from 1952 to 1989, the institution was called as Uniwersytet Wrocławski im. Bolesława Bieruta, after the former president and prime minister of Poland, Bolesław Bierut.

Some of the University of Wroclaw notable alumni include Friedrich Bergius, a German chemist known for the Bergius process for producing synthetic fuel from coal; Max Born, a German-born physicist and mathematician; Hans Georg Dehmelt, a German-born American physicist; and Paul Ehrlich, a German scientist in the fields of hematology, immunology, and chemotherapy; these are all Nobel Prize winners. Johannes Brahms, a German composer and pianist is included in the list of the university’s honorary doctorates.

University of Wroclaw Address

The University address is located at:
Uniwersytet Wroclawski
Plac Uniwersytecki 1

University of Wroclaw Rankings and Quick Facts

University of Wroclaw rankings
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
> 510
European Rank (Jiaotong)
> 208
Uniwersytet Wroclawski Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)


University of Wroclaw;

Scroll to Top