University of Oulu Ranking and Address

University of Oulu Information

Oulun yliopisto, or the University of Oulo, is Finland’s second-largest university.

It has three campuses with the main campus in Linnanmaa, approximately five kilometres from Oulo’s city centre. One of the other two campuses houses the Faculty of Medicine which is fully integrated with the city hospital in Kontinkangas, two kilometres from the city centre. The last campus is in Kajaani, which is 185 kilometres southeast of the city proper.

Other good Finnish universities include University of Turku, Aalto University, and the University of Jyvaskyla.

The city of Oulu was first suggested as a venue for a university in 1905. In 1919, the Oulu Society for Higher Education (Oulun Korkeakouluseura) was created for the purpose of promoting the establishment of a university. Another organisation which sought the creation of a university was the Research Foundation of Northern Finland (Pohjois-Suomen tutkimussäätiö), which was founded in 1949. Aside from forming various organisations, there were also several events which contributed to the formation of a new university. In 1951, the first summer university programe was created and in 1953, a provisional college for teacher training was also established. The following year, the city reserved an area which would be the site of a new university. Also in that year, the University Society started to collect funds which would be used to construct a student residence. In 1956, the Myberg Committee proposed that the new university should only have a few programmes. This was countered the following year by the Kaitera Committee which believed that since the new university would be the second in the country, it should have a wide array of course offerings. Finally, on 8 July 1958, then president, Urho Kekkonen, made the Oulu University Act official, therefore formally establishing the University of Oulu.

The University of Oulu has six faculties: Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Science and Faculty of Technology. It also as several shared locations and research stations: Oulo Southern Institute, Meri-Lappi Institute, Raahe Unit and Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory.

The University of Oulu has produced a number of internationally known personalities. Some of the famous alumni include 2008 Nobel Peace Prize winner and Finnish president, Martti Ahtisaari; Internet Relay Chat (IRC) developer, Jarkko Oikarinen; world-renowned geneticist, Leena Palotie; and portable heart rate monitor inventor, Seppo Säynäjäkangas, amongst others.

University of Oulu Address

Oulun Yliopisto
90570 Oulu,

University of Oulu Logo

University of Oulu Logo
University of Oulu Logo

University of Oulu Rankings and Quick Facts

University of Oulu ranking
Ranking – Times 400 (UK)
= 354
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
305 to 402
European Rank (Jiaotong)
124 to 172
University of Oulu Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
Faculty / Staff
Number of foreign students


University of Oulu;

Scroll to Top