Royal Holloway, University of London Ranking and Address

Royal Holloway, University of London Information

Royal Holloway, University of London or RHUL, is a University of London constituent. It is located within the boundary of the Greater London Urban Area, slightly west of Egham, Surrey.

TheRoyal Holloway ranking is as number 39 in the University Review List of best UK universities. Similarly ranked colleges include Cardiff University, University of Manchester, University of Aberdeen, and the University of Leeds.

It has three faculties with 18 academic departments. The institution is composed of approximately 8,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students from almost 130 different countries.

Its former name is the Royal Holloway College, which was a women-only institution. In 1886, Queen Victoria officially opened the campus and in 1900, it became a member of the University of London. The college started to admit male postgraduate students in 1945 and male undergraduates in 1965. The Royal Holloway College fused with Bedford College, which is London’s formerly all-women’s college that was founded in 1849. The merging of the two institutions gives rise to the new Royal Holloway and Bedford New College (RHBNC).

The Royal Holloway University of London is composed of three faculties with 18 academic departments:

Faculty of Arts: Department of English, Department of Drama and Theatre, Department of Classics and Philosophy, Department of Media Arts, Centre for Victorian Studies, Department of Modern Languages, Literatures & Cultures (German, French, Italian, Hispanic Studies, European Literature and Cultural Studies), Department of Music, and Department of European Studies.

Faculty of History and Social Sciences: Department of History, Department of Politics and International Relations, Department of Economics, Department of Management, Department of Health and Social Care, Department of European Studies, and Centre for Criminology and Sociology.

Faculty of Sciences: Department of Biological Sciences, Department of Earth Sciences, Department of Geography, Department of Chemical and Bioanalytical Sciences, Department of Computer Science, Department of Physics, Department of Mathematics, Information Security Group, Science Communication, Electron Microscopy Unit, and Department of Psychology.

Royal Holloway, University London Address

Royal Holloway, University of London
Egham Hill,
TW20 0EX
United Kingdom

Royal Holloway University of London Rankings and Quick Facts

Commonly refered to as RHUL
To be, rather than to seem: esse quam videri.

Royal Holloway University of London ranking
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
305 to 402
UK Rank (Sunday Times)
Europe Rank (Jiaotong)
124 to 172
Royal Holloway, University of London Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
1994 Group, ACU, AMBA


Royal Holloway, University London;

Scroll to Top