Waseda University Ranking and Address

Waseda University Information

Waseda University (早稲田大学 often shortened to Sōdai) is one of Japan’s top private, comprehensive institutions of higher learning. It was founded as Tokyo Senmon Gakko by Shigenobu Okuma, a government official and scholar in 1882 and became “Waseda University” in 1902. An urban type campus, it maintains an environment of liberalism epitomised by its belief for “independence of learning.” The Waseda University ranking is 13th in Japan, and 316 to 324 in the world. Similarly rated colleges in Japan include Kobe University, Hiroshima University, Chiba University, and Nagasaki University.

Sōdai was rooted as a college holding three departments adhering to the ancient Japanese orientation of higher learning and has become a wide-ranging institution of higher education owning a School of Arts and Architecture and two senior secondary schools.

Waseda University expands through the following undergraduate schools, namely, School of Political Science and Economics; School of Law, School of Letters, Arts and Sciences I; School of Letters, Arts and Sciences II; School of Culture, Media and Society; School of Humanities and Social Sciences; School of Education; School of Commerce; School of Fundamental Science and Engineering; School of Creative Science and Engineering; School of Advanced Science and Engineering; School of Social Sciences; School of Human Sciences; School of Sport Sciences; and School of International Liberal Studies.

At present, the Waseda University boasts of 22 graduate schools which include the School of Political Science; the School of Economics; the School of Law; the School of Letters, Arts and Sciences; the School of Commerce; the School of Fundamental Science and Engineering; the School of Creative Science and Engineering; the School of Advanced Science and Engineering; the School of Education; the School of Human Sciences; the School of Social Sciences; the School of Sport Sciences; the School of Asia-Pacific Studies; the School of Global Information and Telecommunication Studies; the School of Japanese Applied Linguistics; the School of Information, Production and Systems; the Okuma School of Public Management; the School of Environment and Energy Engineering; the School of Teacher Education; Waseda Law School; the School of Finance, Accounting and Law; and the School of Accountancy.

The University takes pride in producing prime ministers as part of its alumni roll, namely, Tanzan Ishibashi (1956–1957), Noboru Takeshita (1987–1989), Toshiki Kaifu (1989–1991), Keizo Obuchi (1998–2000), Yoshiro Mori (2000–2001), and Yasuo Fukuda (2007–2008). It also enlisted in its alumni famous business executives such as the co-founder of Sony, Masaru Ibuka; the former chairman of Samsung, Lee Kun-hee; CEO of Honda, Takeo Fukui; CEO of Toshiba, Atsutoshi Nishida; CEO of Mitsubishi Motors, Osamu Masuko; CEO of Toyota Industries, Tetsuro Toyoda; CEO of Uniqlo, Tadashi Yanai; and founder and former senior partner of McKinsey & Co Japan, Kenichi Ohmae.

The Waseda University ranking is number 37 in Asia in the University Review List. Similarly ranked colleges include Sungkyunkwan University, National Tsing Hua University, National Chiao Tung University, and Kanazawa University.

Waseda University Address

The Waseda University address is located at:
1-104 Totsukamachi,
Tokyo 169-8050

Waseda University Rankings and Quick Facts

Motto: Independence of Learning

Waseda University ranking
Ranking – Times 200 (UK)
= 180
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
305 to 402
Asia Rank (Jiaotong)
43 to 64
Waseda University Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
Faculty / Staff
Number of foreign students
Universitas 21; Association of Pacific Rim Universities


Waseda University; Asia University List

Scroll to Top