University of Tromso Ranking and Address

University of Tromso Information

The University of Tromsø, (Universitetet i Tromsø) is located in city of the same name in the country of Norway; it is the world’s northernmost university.

It was initially established in 1968 and opened in 1972. The institution is one of Norway’s eight universities and is the largest research and education institution found in northern Norway. Because of the university’s location, it is a perfect venue for the development of studies of the region’s natural environment, society and culture. The University of Tromsø merged with Tromsø University College on 1 January 2009.

Other Norwegian universities include the UiBUniversity of Oslo and Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

The University of Tromsø focuses lie on Auroral light research, Biotechnology, Fishery science, Space science, Multicultural societies, Linguistics, Telemedicine, Epidemiology, Saami culture (the name of the institution in Saami is Romssa universiteht, and a wide spectrum of Arctic research projects. The close vicinity with the Norwegian Institute of Marine Research, the Norwegian Polar Institute, and the Polar Environmental Centre, provides the university added importance as an International Centre for Arctic research. However, the various research activities conducted by the institution are not limited to Arctic studies and there is a broad range of subjects that are both internationally and nationally recognized.

The University of Tromsø has six major faculties namely the Faculty of Science and Technology (including the Department of Chemistry, Department of Geology, Department of Engineering and Safety, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Department of Computer Science, Tromsø Geophysical Observatory, Department of Physics and Technology and the Centre for Theoretical and Computational Chemistry); Faculty of Health Sciences (including the Department of Pharmacy,Department of Community Medicine,Department of Clinical Medicine,Department of Medical Biology,Department of Clinical Dentistry, Department of Health and Care Sciences and the Department of Psychology); Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education (including the Department of Education, Department of Language and Linguistics and the Department of Philosophy); Faculty of Law; Faculty of Fine Arts (including the Academy of Contemporary Art and Creative Writing and the Department of Music, Dance and Drama); and the Faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries and Economics (including the Norwegian College of Fishery Science and the Department of Arctic and Marine Biology).

Tor Hagfors, a Norwegian scientist, radio astronomer and radar expert; Carsten Smith, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Norway; Steven Pinker, a Canadian-American experimental psychologist, cognitive scientist, linguist and author of popular science writings; and Salman Rushdie, an Indian-British novelist and essayist; are few of the renowned honorary doctors of the University of Tromsø.

University of Tromso Address

The University address is located at:
Universitetet i Tromsø
Romssa universitehta.
N-9037 Tromsø

University of Tromsø Rankings and Quick Facts

University of Tromso ranking
Ranking – Times 200 (UK)
= 292
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
403 to 510
European Rank (Jiaotong)
173 to 208
Universitetet i Tromsø Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
Faculty / Staff


University of Tromsø;

Scroll to Top