University of Granada Ranking and Address

University of Granada Information

The University of Granada is a public university in Granada, Spain. Established in 1531, the university is headed by its rector, Francisco González Lodeiro and has five different campuses scattered throughout Granada, namely its Centro, Fuentenueva, Cartuja, Aynadamar and Health Sciences campus. It also has two campuses in Melilla and Ceuta in North Africa.

Other Spanish college and universities include the University of Barcelona, Autonomous University of MadridAutonomous University of Barcelona, University of Valencia, Polytechnic University of Valencia, Complutense University of Madrid, University of Zaragoza and University of Seville.

The university was established in 1531, adapting the teaching principles and methods of the Nasrid Kingdom’s madrasahs. However, the university’s beginnings date back as far as 1526, even before it became the University of Granada. During that time, it was a college built in Granada by Charles V, the Roman Emperor, which provided quality education in the fields of law, theology, philosophy and logic. It only gained its status as a university in 1531, after its faculties of art, theology and canon law were granted the status of studium generale by Clement VII.

Similarly ranked universities include the University of Lisbon, Tokushima University, University of Pavia, and the University of Bremen.

Today, the students at the University of Granada can choose to study any of the 75 different qualifications offered. These are spread throughout the university’s 28 faculties and schools.

The university’s current lineup of faculties and schools include the faculties of Faculty of Communication and Documentation; Dentistry; Economic and Business Sciences; Education and Humanities (Ceuta); Education and Humanities (Melilla); Educational Sciences; Fine Arts; Labour Sciences; Law; Medicine; Pharmacy; Philosophy and Literature; Physical Activity and Sports Sciences; Political Sciences and Sociology; Psychology; Science; and Translation and Interpreting.

The university’s different schools include the Schools of Technical Architecture, Health Sciences, Social Sciences (Melilla), Nursing (also offered in Melilla and Ceuta), Primary Education (or La Inmaculada), Social Work, as well as its higher technical schools of Civil Engineering; and Computer Science and Telecommunications Engineering.

The university has 116 departments and offer 113 extracurricular, non-credit and short-term courses. It also offers 116 doctorate and 68 master’s degrees. The university also has several institutes under its name to aid in the scholarly and research endeavors of the university’s students. These institutes include the Andalusian Institute of Earth Sciences, Institute of Biotechnology, “Carlos I” Institute of Theoretical and Computational Physics, Centre of Comparative Law, Institute of Nutrition and Food Technology and the Permanent Centre of the Faculty of Political Sciences and Sociology. Centre for Safety Studies and Analysis.

The university welcomes students from all over the globe with open arms and has even received a Gold Star from the Erasmus Programme for its efforts in international academic cooperation. Aside from its stellar learning program for foreign students, the University of Granada also has several student exchange programs with several sister/partner schools across the globe.

University of Granada Address

The university is located at Cuesta del Hospicio, Granada, Spain.

University of Granada Rankings and Quick Facts

University of Granada ranking
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
403 to 510
European Rank (Jiaotong)
173 to 208
University Granada Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
Faculty / Staff
Coimbra Group, Tordesillas Group


University of Granada;

Scroll to Top