Kyungpook National University Ranking and Address

Kyungpook National University Information

Kyungpook National University (KNU) is one of the leading national universities in South Korea. It is located in the Daegu Metropolitan City and is among the 10 Flagship Korean National Universities, a group of elite universities created by the national government to provide the highest quality of education.

The Kyungpook National University ranking is number 49 in Asia in the University Review List. Similarly ranked colleges include National Yang Ming University, Chiba University, Nagasaki University, and the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. Other great South Korean universities include Seoul National University, KAIST, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Yonsei University, Korea University, and Sungkyunkwan University.

The Kyungpook National University is divided into four campuses: Daegu Sankyeok campus (Main Campus), Daegu Dongin campus, Daegu Samdeok campus, and Sangju campus. Locally, the university is known as Kyungdae and KNU.

KNU was formally established in 1946. It started as Daegu Dong-in Hospital in 1907 and three years later was renamed into Daegu Jahae Hospital. In 1912, it was again renamed into Kyungsangpook-do Provincial Daegu Hospital. In 1946, with the establishment of the College of Education, College of Agriculture and College of Medicine, the institution was upgraded into a National College. It was renamed into Kyungpook National University in 1951 with the establishment of the Colleges of Liberal Arts, Sciences, Law and Political Sciences.

Kyungpook National University is composed of 18 undergraduate colleges and schools and 14 graduate schools.

The undergraduate colleges include the College of Humanities, College of Social Sciences, College of Natural Sciences, College of Economics and Business Administration, College of Law, College of Engineering, College of Agriculture and Life Science, College of Music and Arts, Teacher’s College, College of Veterinary Medicine, College of Human Ecology, College of Nursing, College of IT Engineering, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Ecology and Environmental Science(Sangju campus), College of Science and Engineering(Sangju campus), School of Health and Welfare(Sangju campus), and Undeclared Major, which is a freshmen-only campus.

The graduate schools include the General Graduate School, School of Medicine, School of Dentistry, Law School, Graduate School of Education, Graduate School of Public Administration, Graduate School of Business Administration, Graduate School of Public Health, Graduate School of Industry, Graduate School of Agricultural Development, Graduate School of International Studies, Graduate School of Policy and Information, Graduate School of Forensic and Investigative Science, and Graduate School of Science and Technology.

Kyungpook National University
KNU – Kyungpook National University through the seasons

Notable alumni include former South Korean President Park Chung-hee, poet Kim Ch’un-su, 2002 Miss Korea ‘Jin’ Nana Keum and Nobel Prize nominee Kim Soon-kwon, amongst others.

Kyungpook National University Address

The university can be found at the following address: 1370 Sangyeok-dong, Buk-gu, South Korea.

Kyungpook National University Logo

Kyungpook National University Logo
Kyungpook National University Logo

Kyungpook National University (KNU) Rankings and Quick Facts

Motto: Truth, Pride, Service
Korean: 경북대학교

Kyungpook National University ranking
Ranking – Times 200 (UK)
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
> 510
University world Ranking – Newsweek 100 (USA)
Asia – Australiasia Rank (Jiaotong)
> 100
KNU Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
Faculty / Staff


Kyungpook National University; Photograph by mumutia; Asia College List.

Scroll to Top