Aalto University Ranking and Address

Aalto University Information

The former Helsinki University of Technology was one of the three schools that were merged in January 2010 to create the Aalto University; a university in Finland. The other two schools were the University of Art and Design Helsinki and the Helsinki School of Economics. The schools were merged in order to lessen the number of universities in Finland and to promote and develop strong inter-disciplinary education.

Other good Finnish universities include University of Turku, University of Oulu, and University of Jyvaskyla.

Helsinki University of Technology, formerly known as Teknillinen Korkeakoulu, Tekniska högskolan or TKK, is located in the Otaniemi district of Espoo, a city in Greater Helsinki. It was originally located in downtown Helsinki but was moved to its current location in 1966. TKK was founded in 1849 by the Russian Emperor Grand Duke Nicholas I. University status was obtained in 1908 and was incorporated into Aalto University in 2010. The old departments of TKK now form the four science and engineering schools of Aalto University.

Helsinki University of Technology was originally incorporated into Aalto University as the School of Science and Technology. The School, however, was divided into four on January 1, 2011. The new schools are called School of Engineering, School of Chemical Technology, School of Science and School of Electrical Engineering. The schools offer Bachelor’s degrees as well as Master’s and doctorate degrees.

Bachelor’s degree programs are not offered in English at Aalto University so prospective students should have significant knowledge of Swedish or Finnish language. For non-native speakers, Aalto requires a language certificate in Finnish. Over 20 Master’s degree programs, however, are offered in English. 17 of them are taught completely in English. These programs lead to a degree of Master of Science in Technology or Architecture.

The Aalto University schools of science and technology are noted for having a number Centers of Excellence, as recognized by the Academy of Finland. Some of these include Adaptive Informatics Research Centre, Bio- and Nanopolymers Research Group, Computational Complex Systems Research, Low Temperature Quantum Phenomena and Devices, Computational Nanoscience, Generic Intelligent Machines Research, and Applied Electronics Laboratory, among others.

Notable TKK and Aalto University alumni and faculty include Nokia corporate leader Jorma Ollila, architect Alvar Aalto, Kone CEO Matti Alahuhta, CEN administrative council member Dan-Olof Riska and the first female European architect Signe Hornborg.

Aalto University Address

The Schools of Science and Technology at Aalto University are located at Lämpömiehenkuja 2, Espoo.

Aalto University Rankings and Quick Facts

Finnish: Aalto-yliopisto Swedish: Aalto-universitetet.

Aalto University ranking
Ranking – Times 200 (UK)
University world Ranking – Jiaotong 500 (China)
403 to 510
European Rank (Jiaotong)
173 to 208
Helsinki University of Technology Facts
Students (Undergraduates / PG/ Total)
Faculty / Staff
2010 (from 3 older institutions)
700 million Euros
Conference of European Schools for Advanced Engineering Education and Research


Aalto University;

Scroll to Top